The Office of Financial Aid receives notification of various scholarships that are awarded by organizations other than the School of Law. These organizations have their own application and selection criteria for awarding private funds. Scholarships vary in amount and criteria and students are responsible for all application, renewal and disbursement paperwork. 

Current Students:

Joseph H. Gellert, Dutchess County Bar Association Scholarship
The Dutchess County Bar Association Foundation will award a non-renewable $1,000 scholarship to a law student who has completed at least one year of law school and will be enrolled in an accredited ABA law school for the 2015-2016 academic year. Applicants must be residents of New York's Dutchess County. Visit the Community Foundations of the Hudson Valley website for additional scholarship criteria and applications. Scholarship applications must be submitted online by May 1, 2015.

Incoming Students:

American Bar Association Legal Opportunity Scholarship
The American Bar Association will award twenty $5,000 renewable scholarships to students entering law school in fall 2015. The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage and financially assist racial and ethnic minority students to attend law school. Visit the American Bar Association website for additional scholarship information and the application. Completed applications must be received by March 2, 2015.

Greater Bridgeport Bar Association Scholarship
The Fairfield County Community Foundation will award a $4,500 scholarship to a first year student entering law school during the 2015-2016 academic year. This scholarship may be renewed based on certain criteria at an amount to be determined annually. Eligible applicants must be a permanent resident of one of the nine towns in the Greater Bridgeport area: Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Milford, Monroe, Shelton, Stratford, Trumbull, or Westport. Visit the Fairfield County Community Foundation website to learn more about additional scholarship criteria and complete the application. Applications must be received by June 10, 2015.

Rhode Island Bar Foundation Scholarship
The Rhode Island Bar Foundation will award the Thomas F. Black, Jr. Memorial Scholarship to two Rhode Island residents who will be entering their first year of law school for the 2015-2016 academic year. The $20,000 scholarship is a one year, non-renewable award for full-time students. Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of documented financial need, superior academic performance, community and public service, and demonstrated commitment to the State of Rhode Island. Additional scholarship information and applications are available on the Rhode Island Bar Foundation website. Applications and required paperwork must be received by March 23, 2015.

Back to top