The School of Communications presents the Fred Friendly First Amendment Award each year to honor those who have shown courage and forthrightness in preserving the rights set forth in the First Amendment. The award bears the name of the former CBS News president and champion of freedom of speech.

The School of Communications also has a Fred Friendly Professorship. The Fred Friendly Professorship is a permanent position in the School of Communications.

Past Fred Friendly First Amendment Award Recipients:

Christiane Amanpour Robert MacNeil
Tom Bettag Bill Moyers
Tom Brokaw Scott Pelley
Richard Engel Martha Raddatz
David Fanning Dan Rather
Charles Gibson Tim Russert
Don Hewitt Morley Safer
Gwen Ifill Bob Schieffer
Peter Jennings Lesley Stahl
Ted Koppel Mike Wallace
Steve Kroft Barbara Walters
Jim Lehrer

Read a story and see photos from the latest award presentations
Gwen Ifill (2010)
Scott Pelley (2013)
Martha Raddatz (2012)
Barbara Walters (2014)
Richard Engel (2015)

For more information about the annual award, please contact the School of Communications at 203-582-8974.

Back to top