The Fred Friendly First Amendment Award

The Fred Friendly First Amendment award is presented annually to a journalist who has shown courage and forthrightness in preserving the rights set forth in the First Amendment.

The award, given out by the School of Communications, bears the name of the former CBS News president and champion of freedom of speech. Past recipients include Dan Rather, Lesley Stahl, Bill Moyers, Ted Koppel, Tom Brokaw, Jim Lehrer, Robert MacNeil, Don Hewitt, Peter Jennings, Mike Wallace, Christiane Amanpour, Tom Bettag, Tim Russert, Bob Schieffer, Steve Kroft, Charles Gibson, Morley Safer, Gwen Ifill, David Fanning, Martha Raddatz and Scott Pelley.

Diane Sawyer, anchor of ABC's "World News with Diane Sawyer," was among more than 100 guests at the 2012 award ceremony, held in New York City.

Other guests included former "World News" anchor Charles Gibson; George Stephanopoulos, co-anchor of "Good Morning America"; Barbara Walters, creator and co-host of ABC's "The View"; and ABC correspondents and anchors Ron Claiborne, David Kerley and Terry Moran. Network executives included executive producers Jon Banner, Marc Burstein, Tom Cibrowski, Michael Corn, James Goldston, David Reiter, vice president of news, and Robin Sproul, vice president and Washington bureau chief.


More School of Communications Spotlights

Jon Alba

Student Spotlight

Jon Alba has wanted to be in television for as long as he can remember. He was intrigued by what Quinnipiac had to offer.

Read More

Professor Ben Bogardus

Faculty Spotlight

Over the course of his award-winning career, journalism professor Ben Bogardus has covered multiple natural disasters and the Super Bowl. But teaching his students how to thrive in a modern TV newsroom just might be his biggest accomplishment.

Read More

Professor Rebecca Abbott

Faculty Spotlight

Communications professor Rebecca Abbott loves teaching. The Emmy-award winning editor and videographer offers real-world expertise to School of Communications students.

Read More

Lisa Copland

Alumni Spotlight

It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn from a seasoned, award-winning television director. During a unique internship in Los Angeles, Lisa Copland ’14 got to learn from four.

Read More